2015 Policy Summit: Reverse Transfer

August 31, 2014

2015 Community College Futures Assembly Policy Summit offers registration priority to the current BCC Member Colleges.

To learn more about the Policy Summit, please visit Futures Assembly website.

Legacy Award Winner John Squires Talked about Developmental Education

July 17, 2014

To Read more.

Dr. Carl Hite on Math Education & “Do the Math”

February 18, 2014

To Read More.

2014 Bellwether & Legacy Awards Finalists

Announced December 11, 2013

Download the Powerpoint.

2014 Community College Bellwether Award Winners Selected at the Annual Community College Futures Assembly

For Immediate Release JANUARY 29, 2014

Contact: Dale F. Campbell, Ph.D., Director, 352-514-0937, dfc@coe.ufl.edu

Alternate contact: Tina M. O’Daniels, Associate Director, 727-809-1816, Odaniels@ufl.edu


December Webinar: Announcement of Bellwether & Legacy Awards Finalists

December 11, 2013 – 3:00ET / 2:00CT / 1:00MT / 12:00PT

ACCT President to Announce Legacy Awards Finalists during Live Online Event

Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) President and CEO J. Noah Brown will serve on a panel to announce the 2014 Community College Futures Assembly Bellwether Awards and Legacy Award nominees during a live online announcement on Wednesday, December 11 at 3:00 p.m. Eastern. ACCT is a sponsor of the 20th Anniversary Bellwether Legacy Award, a special award created to commemorate the Community College Futures Assembly’s 20th Anniversary.

“The Bellwether Award is among the most prestigious recognition given to those within the community college sector,” Brown said. “ACCT is proud and honored to be able to support the first-ever Legacy Award, and I am excited to be personally involved in the announcement of the awards.”

For 20 years, the Community College Futures Assembly has not only been a national policy summit, but also has recognized and promoted cutting-edge, trendsetting programs that other colleges might find worthy of replicating. Since 1995, the Assembly, sponsored by the Institute of Higher Education at the University of Florida, has recognized exemplary and effective programs through the awarding of the coveted Bellwether Award.


J. Noah Brown – President and CEO, Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT)

Dale F. Campbell – Professor and Director, Institute of Higher Education & FUTURES Bellwether College Consortium, University of Florida

Tina Barreiro O’Daniels – Associate Director & Faculty, Institute of Higher Education, University of Florida

Timothy J. Wilson – Program Director Futures Assembly, Institute of Higher Education, University of Florida

Regsiter Now.

Bellwether Award & Legacy Award

Selected through a national panel of expert judges, 30 Bellwether Finalists in the three categories of Instructional Programs & Services, Planning, Governance & Finance, and Workforce Development, and ten finalists for the coveted Legacy Award will present their nominated programs at the 2014 Community College Futures Assembly this January 25-28 in Orlando, Florida.

These nominees will be announced for the first time during a live webinar on Wednesday, December 11 at 3:00 p.m. Eastern time.

Association of Community College Trustees

Forces for Good: Bellwether College Consortium and Bellwether Award Winning Programs

Community College Futures Assembly’s Annual Updates & Bellwether College Consortium Meeting

The 2013 Bellwether winning programs we will be recognizing:

• Chattanooga State Community College – The Wacker Institute: Diplomas with Job Offers!

• Elgin Community College – One School Can Do So Little; Together We Can Do So Much

• Piedmont Technical College – Lean in Higher Education: How it continues to Change Our Culture

Friday, October 4 from 2:15 p.m. to 3:15 p.m. at the Washington State Convention center

J. Noah Brown Receives Bellwether Book Award

WASHINGTON–February 2, 2013–The Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT) is proud to announce that ACCT President and CEO J. Noah Brown was recognized with the prestigious Bellwether Book Award during the 2013 Community College Futures Assembly on January 29 in Orlando, Florida. “The ACCT Board of Directors couldn’t be more pleased about President Brown’s well-earned honor,” said ACCT Chair Jean Torgeson, a trustee a North Iowa Area Community College.

Read the Article.

The 2013 Bellwether Winners have been announced!!

After a competitive field of exemplary and innovative programs, the 2013 Community College FUTURES Assembly is proud to announce this years Bellwether winning institutions:

Instructional Programs and Service:

Elgin Community College (Elgin, Illinois) – “One school can do so little; together we can do so much.”

Planning Governance and Finance:

Piedmont Technical College (Greenwood, South Carolina) – “LEAN in Higher Education: How it Continues to Change Our Culture.”

Workforce Development:

Chattanooga State Community College (Chattanooga, Tennessee) – “The Wacker Institute: Diplomas with Job Offers!

Congratulations to 2013 Bellwether award winners. We are excited and now you can see how how excited they are too.

Check out what a Bellwether winning program does to celebrate their success.

Prestigious Bellwether College Consortium Expanding Membership to Include Finalists Tremendous Opportunity

Community College Futures Assembly finalists are invited to participate in an elite group of Bellwether winning colleges and former Futures finalists called the Bellwether College Consortium (BCC). As part of the rigorous peer-reviewed and nationally recognized Bellwether award process, finalists are annually chosen out of over 400 nominations for the prestigious Bellwether Award.

More information.