Diversity and Inclusion Committee

Mission statement:

The University of Florida Council on Diversity stated: “As the University of Florida harmonizes efforts to become one of the top public research institutions, a commitment to diversity is clearly illustrated in the University Work Plan to improve student and faculty diversity.” President Bernie Machen also stated: ” Diversifying the faculty is a goal UF must achieve to maintain the vitality of the faculty and student body.” Following these two statements, the Diversity and Inclusion Committee of the College of Education has a commitment to not only improve student and faculty diversity but to have this diversity illustrated in the curriculum and service of the programs, degrees, and certificates produced in the College of Education. Further, we are also committed to the cultural competence of all members of the College of Education community.

Constitutional Responsibilities:

“This committee will consist of two people from each school as well as a voting representative of the Council. This committee shall make recommendations regarding policies and matters related to diversity within the College of Education.”

2020-2021 Membership

  • Chair: Gage Jeter
  • Dean’s Office Representative: Nancy Waldron
  • Faculty Policy Council Representative: Gage Jeter
  • School of Human Development and Organizational Studies In Education: Hannah Baynes, Elliott Woehler
  • School of Special Education, School Psychology and Early Childhood Studies: Lindsey Chapman, Joni Splett
  • School of Teaching and Learning: Gage Jeter, Taryrn Brown


June 29th, 2020

August 26th, 2020

September 15th, 2020

October 20th, 2020

November 19th, 2020

February 3rd, 2021


Minutes Archive

2019-2020 Minutes 

2018-2019 Minutes


End of Year Reports

2014-2015 Final Report

2013-2014 Final Report
2012-2013 Final Report
2011-2012 Final Report
2010-2011 Final Report