Schedule of Events

Sunday, October 17th:
Opening Reception

Monday, October 18th:
Sharing Research In-Progress
Idea Sessions

Tuesday, October 19th:
Actionable Items Sessions

Improving Data for School Discipline Research

Reducing Exclusionary Discipline to Improve Equity


Planning Committee

F. Chris Curran, Associate Professor, University of Florida
Francis Pearman, Assistant Professor of Education, Stanford University
Joseph Gardella, Postdoctoral Associate, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Samantha Viano, Assistant Professor of Education, George Mason University
Ben Fisher, Assistant Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Florida State University


Aaron Kupchik, Professor of Sociology and Criminal Justice, University of Delaware
Abby Novak, Assistant Professor , University of Mississippi
Abigail Adkins, Equal Justice Works Fellow, Southern Legal Counsel
Alounso Gilzene, Assistant Professor, Florida State University
Amy E. Fisher, Postdoctoral Scholar, Case Western Reserve University
Anthony Peguero, Professor of Sociology & Criminology, Arizona State University
Dewey Cornell, Professor, University of Virginia
Erik J. Girvan, Associate Professor, University of Oregon School of Law
Jason Nance, Professor of Law, University of Florida Levin College of Law
Joni Splett, Associate Professor, University of Florida
Judi Vanderhaar, PhD, Division of Student Success, Kentucky Department of Education
Julie Collins, Management Consultant, Florida DOE-Safe Schools
Kaitlin Anderson, Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership, Lehigh University
Kate Harris, Graduate Research Assistant, University of Florida
Kelly Welch, Professor, Villanova University
Lelydeyvis Boza, Graduate Research Assistant, University of Florida
Matthew Duque, Senior Researcher, Maryland State Dept of Education
Max Schachter, Founder and Executive Director, Safe Schools for Alex,
Pam Fenning, Professor, Loyola University Chicago
Rebecca Hinze-Pifer, Assistant Professor, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Richard Welsh , Assistant Professor, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies , New York University
Sarah D. Lynne, Associate Professor, University of Florida
Steven Carlo, Graduate Research Assistant, University of Florida
Tiffany Tan, Graduate Research Assistant, University of Florida
Tim Hay, Executive Director Office of Safe Schools, Florida Department of Education