Lectures, Seminars, and Awards Committee Annual Report 2022-2023

Members: Shelley Warm (STL), Bojan Lazarevic (STL), Hannah Bayne (HDOSE), Kakali Bhattacharya

(HDOSE), Lee Purvis (SESPECS), Valentina Contesse (SESPECS; FPC Rep) **Report prepared by**: Shelley Warm, Bojan Lazarevic, Valentina Contesse **Dean's Office Representatives:** Thomasenia Adams, Tina Smith-Bonahue

Committee Goals

- 1. Better communication and dissemination of process to lead a Lecture/Seminar.
- 2. Work on standardizing the process for reviewing award applications.
- 3. Define objective criteria for evaluating award applications.

Progress Towards Committee Goals

Goal 1. Better communication and dissemination of process to lead a Lecture/Seminar.

• Information shared at department faculty meetings.

Goal 2. Work on standardizing the process for reviewing award applications.

- Dean's office representatives were asked for guidance and clarification when necessary.
- Zoom meetings and emails were used to discuss and evaluate award applications.
- Decisions were forwarded to the Dean's representatives for their approval.

Goal 3. Define objective criteria for evaluating award applications.

- Used objective criteria for 2022 International Educator of the Year Award.
- Plan to use objective criteria for 2023 Faculty Awards:
 - o Diane E. Haines Teaching Excellence Award
 - Dennison Teacher Researcher Excellence Award
 - Rosser Educator Excellence Award

2023-2024 Goals To Be Carried Forward

One priority area or challenge that the committee would like to address during the 2023-2024 academic year.

- Limited funds may impact guest lecture opportunities.
- Committee plans to continue to work on developing/using objective criteria for evaluation of award applications.