EAP doctoral students receive honors

Karen Bakuzonis

Karen Bakuzonis

A doctora…


December 14, 2005



Karen Bakuzonis

Karen Bakuzonis

A doctoral student in the Department of Educational Administration and Policy was awarded the annual L.V. Koos Scholarship, and two others received honorable mentions.

The higher education administration students recently received their awards at the Florida Association of Community College convention in Tampa as part of the session titled, “Research on Florida Community Colleges.”

Award winner Karen Bakuzonis won the scholarship based on her dissertation proposal, which involves analyzing the impact of the Florida community-college system’s performance-based budgeting initiatives on instructional and administrative efficiency and effectiveness.  According to Bakuzonis’s dissertation committee chair, Linda Serra Hagedorn, “This dissertation is one that may really make a difference in the Florida Community College System.”

Tom Robertson received honorable mention for his dissertation proposal on the leadership gap among student affairs professionals in community colleges. Honorable mention winner Carole Luby proposed a study of psychological empowerment among employees in a community college.

The $750 Koos Scholarship is based on the merit and value of a dissertation on the topic of community colleges. UF COE doctoral students with a specific interest in community education and at least 30 semester hours are eligible.     



    Chan Tran, ctran@ufl.edu, (352) 392-0726, ext. 246