December 1, 2003

Room 158, Norman Hall

Members Present: Jennifer Asmus, Dale Campbell, Maureen Conroy, Silvia Echevarria-Doan (for James Archer), Mirka Koro-Ljurgberg, Terry Scott, Nancy Waldron, Elizabeth Yeager, Danling Fu (alternate for Linda Lamme), Dave Honeyman (alternate for Craig Wood)

Members Absent: Linda Lamme, Craig Wood, James Archer

Others Present: Dean Emihovich, Dean Kranzler

Waldron called the meeting to order at 2:10 p.m.

Agenda and Minutes

1. Approval of agenda for December 1, 2003

Yeager made a motion to approve the December 1, 2003 meeting agenda as submitted by Waldron.  Echevarria-Doan seconded the motion.  The FPC unanimously approved the agenda.

2. Approval of the minutes of the November 17, 2003 minutes

Echevarria-Doan, Asmus, and Campbell made several corrections to the minutes.  Echevarria-Doan made a motion to approve the November 17, 2003 minutes with the changes requested.  Asmus seconded the motion.  The FPC unanimously approved the minutes as amended.


1.      FPC Agenda Committee Meeting.

The next meeting is scheduled January 12, 2004 from 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon. Items for this meeting should be given to Waldron before that date.

2. College Conversation Hour – Dean Emihovich–December 8-11:45-12:45

Dean Emihovich will hold an open conversation hour on December 8, 2003 from 11:45 a.m. – 12:45 p.m. in the Dean’s Conference room. Everyone is welcome to attend.

Committee Reports

1. College Curriculum Committee

The Committee met last Monday, November 24, 2003.  The next meeting will be Monday, January 5, 2004 at 2:00 p.m.  The Committee is working on several minor course changes.

2. Faculty and Budgetary Affairs Committee

Echevarria-Doan reported that the committee has not met since the last meeting. Another meeting date has not been scheduled at this time. Schevarria-Doan clarified that the chair of this committee is Dick Allington.

3. Lectures, Seminars & Awards Committee

Asmus reported that the committee is meeting with Dean Webb to discuss committee responsibilities for scheduling lectures and seminars. In addition, the committee has been meeting electronically regarding the dissertation mentoring award.

4. Long Range Planning Committee

No report.

5. Research Advisory Committee

The committee is meeting with Dean Emihovich regarding the search for a Director for the new research office and the CRIF Awards.

6. Student Recruitment, Admissions & Petitions Committee

Yeager reported that the Committee will meet Tuesday, December 2, 2003 from 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.  in the Educational Psychology conference room. The chair of this committee is Tracy Linderholm.

7. Technology Committee

No report.

8. Ad Hoc Committee on Doctoral Research Requirements

The committee has developed a recommendation for doctoral research requirements that will be forwarded to the FPC for review.

9. Ad Hoc Committee on Procedures for Annual Review of COE Dean

Campbell is chairing this committee. Committee members include Lamme, Archer, Wood, Campbell, Waldron, and Conroy. The committee will meet on December 8, 2003 to begin to develop procedures.

Report from the Dean

Dean Emihovich reported on a policy meeting that she recently attended in Washington, D.C. The IDEA, NCLB, and Higher Education Act were discussed at the policy meeting. Issues discussed included teacher qualifications linked to student learning, tracking graduates of the program, student performance, assessment and accountability, linking with the College of Arts & Sciences for teacher training in content areas. There was a discussion about the meaning of “highly qualified” as well as how to address teacher shortages. The emphasis at UF is on graduate enrollment, which will mean the development of teacher education programs that emphasize graduate education.

Dean Kranzler reported on the installation of the new server.  The new server should be installed by January 2004 and will provide back up for data files and calendars. In addition, the faculty will have access to web-based mail through the new server. The use of including your calendar on the new server will be voluntary. The server will be compatible with Mac’s as well as PCs.

Dean Emihovich discussed the questionnaire that came from the Provost’s office on shared governance. The questionnaire was conducted at the beginning of the academic year.  The handout gives some indications of what is happening in other Colleges.

Dean Emihovich announced the hiring of Robin Freye as the new Alumni Coordinator.

New Business

1. Faculty nominations for Assistant/Associate Deans’ Review Committee

The following individuals have been nominated to serve on this committee: Richard Allington, School of Teaching & Learning; Linda Behar-Horenstein, Educational Leadership; Phil Clark, Educational Leadership; John Gregory, School of Teaching & Learning; Larry Loesch, Counselor Education; James McLeskey, Special Education; and David Miller, Educational Psychology. Asmus asked if all of the nominees were full professors. A motion was made by Yeager to accept the list and forward it to the Dean. Echevarria-Doan seconded the motion. The FPC unanimously approved the motion.

2. Follow-up on Dean’s Budget Report

The Dean will present a follow-up report on the budget at the January 12, 2004 FPC meeting. This information will be provided to FPC members in advance of the meeting.

3. Ad-hoc Committee Proposal on Doctoral Research Requirements–January 12th

Algina and Clark will attend the next FPC meeting to discuss the proposal for doctoral research requirements. The proposal will be forwarded to FPC members in advance for review.

4. Transfer of credits for EdS degree

Kranzler requested that the FPC discuss the transfer of credit hours for the EdS degree. This topic has been forward to the College Curriculum Committee for discussion.

5. Admission requirements to Secondary and Pathways to Education Minors

This topic has been forwarded to the Student Recruitment, Admissions, and Petitions Committee)

6. Third/fourth year review for tenure-accruing faculty–Alignment of COE and University Policies (Faculty & Budgetary Affairs)

The FPC approved a third year review policy last year. However, the University has developed a third/fourth year review policy. Faculty and Budgetary Affairs will compare the two policies to determine any conflicts.


A motion was made by Asmus for adjournment and seconded by Echevarria-Doan.  The meeting was adjourned at 3:00 p.m.