Text-only version of this website Skip to content

News Archive

Articles Tagged ‘UF counselor education’

Counselor Ed. professor doubles up on national laurels

Shon D. Smith, clinical assistant professor in Counselor Education, has recently drawn national attention in his field for two major achievements involving separate divisions of the American Counseling Association (ACA).

Counselor Ed. volunteers reflect on Orlando Pulse nightclub tragedy

Several months have passed since a gunman killed 49 people and wounded 53 at the Pulse nightclub in Orlando in what was the deadliest mass shooting in U.S. history — a horrific tragedy the likes of which rarely strikes so […]

Professor emerita of counselor ed. named ACA Fellow

The world’s largest nonprofit organization representing professional counselors has awarded College of Education professor emerita Mary Ann Clark with one of its highest honors. Clark, a full-time UF faculty member in counselor education from 2000-2014, will be inducted as an American […]

ACA taps rising leaders from UF counselor education

Two up-and-coming leaders from the COE’s counselor education program—a faculty member and an alumni doctoral fellow—have assumed key leadership positions with the American Counseling Association (ACA). Jacqueline Swank, assistant professor in counselor education, has been elected president of the Association […]

Counseling honor society taps COE doctoral student

Chi Sigma Iota, the counseling profession’s international honor society, has selected Kacy Mixon, a UF College of Education doctoral student, as a 2012-13 international leadership fellow from a pool of more than 14,000 student members. Fellowships are awarded to outstanding […]

Professor elected president of nation’s largest counseling association

GAINESVILLE, Fla.—Cirecie West-Olatunji, an associate professor of counselor education at the University of Florida’s College of Education, has been elected president of the American Counseling Association, the nation’s largest counseling professional organization. She will serve one year as president-elect beginning […]