Text-only version of this website Skip to content

In the Headlines

Smith Receives National Award and Elected as President-Elect of the Association for Multicultural Counseling and Development

Smith received the 2017 Mary Smith Arnold Anti-Oppression Award from ACA’s Association of Counselors for Social Justice, which honors professional counselors and educators who have an exemplary record of challenging multiple forms of oppression in the counseling professions and in […]

Scholarship Recognition Night

Counselor Education students received College of Education scholarships at the Annual College of Education Recognition Dinner .

Students and Faculty at ACA

Go Counselor Ed Gators!

Dr. Ana Puig Honored with Mentoring Leadership Award

Dr. Ana Puig received the 2016 Compadrazgo/Comadrazga (Godparent) Mentoring Leadership Award. This award recognizes an individual of the Latina/o Network of the Association of Multicultural Counseling and Development who is active in the mentorship of Latina/o counseling students or professionals, demonstrates commitment to multiculturalism and social justice, and has demonstrated leadership (or leadership potential) within the Latina/o Network.

UF Counselor Education Students Advocate at State Capitol

UF counselor education masters and doctoral students traveled to Tallahassee, the state capital, to advocate for mental health.

Chi Sigma Iota Beta Chapter Receives National Recognition

The University of Florida (Beta Chapter) of Chi Sigma Iota (CSI) , the international counseling honor society, received national recognition at the American Counseling Association (ACA) Convention in San Francisco in March 2017. ...

Dr. John Super Steps Forward to Help Lead A Statewide Collaborative Effort in Response to the Pulse Tragedy

In June 2016, tragedy struck in Orlando with the largest mass shooting in US history at the Pulse Nightclub. As sadness, fear, and an array of other emotions surfaced among individuals in the Central Florida community and around the world, Dr. Super stepped forward to help organize a statewide collaborative effort to provide counseling services and support to victims, their families, and others (including many in the LGBT community) who were hurting and afraid.

Day on the Hill

Counselor education students and faculty traveled to the Florida state capitol in Tallahassee in February to advocate for counselors. Students and faculty attended legislative sessions and met with state representatives and senators to discuss a variety of counseling issues.

IMG_4397 (2)

Kathleen Joseph Honored as the Florida Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (FAMFT) Student of the Year

Kathleen Joseph HeadshotKathleen Joseph, a 2015 M.Ed/Ed.S. graduate from the Counselor Education program at the University of Florida, was honored as the Florida Association of Marriage and Family Therapy (FAMFT) Student of the Year.

School Counseling Graduate honored as “Teacher of the Year”

Teacher of the YearEmily (Mills) Schweim (2012 UF School Counseling graduate) was recently honored as "Teacher of the Year" at the high school where she is employed in Orange County, Florida.

Next Page »