Recognition Dinner Honors Donors, Scholarship Recipients

Look at photos from the event. 

Each year the college hosts its biggest and most important event, the Recognition Dinner, as a way to honor its generous donors and deserving student award winners and scholarship recipients.

Congratulations to all our 2012 Award Winners …

Delores Lastinger (UF Distinguished Alumna), UF’s highest alumni honor!; Brian Dassler and Jocelyn Moore (Outstanding Young Alumni); Jennifer Perreira, (Outstanding Graduate Professional Practice), Carmelo Callueng (Outstanding Graduate Research), Vincent Taylor (Outstanding Graduate Leadership), Jennifer Neukamm (Unified Elementary ProTeach), and Sarah Denham-Elswood (Unified Early Childhood);

Outstanding Undergraduate Jennifer Neukamm

Outstanding Undergraduate Sarah Denham-Elswood

Graduate Award Winners with Dean Adams (from left): Carmelo Callueng, Jennifer Perreira, Dr. Thomasenia Adams, and Vincent Taylor








Over 90 students received scholarships, which was made possible by our donors’ belief in the UF College of Education.

Congratulations to all our student and alumni award winners … and Go EduGators!




IHE Outstanding Graduate to be honored as CSCC Townsend Emerging Scholar

Dr. Chris Mullen (PHD ’08, Higher Ed.) has been selected to receive the 2012 Barbara K. Townsend Emerging Scholar Award from the Council for the Study of Community Colleges (CSCC). This award recognizes a scholar for an outstanding theoretical and/ or applied research publication that contributes to the professional body of knowledge about community college.  The awards presentation is scheduled on April 20 at the annual CSCC meeting.

Dr. Mullin was honored as an Institute of Higher Education Outstanding Graduate earlier this year at the annual Community College Futures Assembly in Orlando, Florida.


Dr. Fred Spooner to Recieve TED/Pearson Award for Work in Special Ed

Fred Spooner (PhD ’80, Special Ed.),  a faculty member in the College of Education’s Department of Special Education and Child Development at UNC Charlotte, will receive the 2012 TED/Pearson Award for Excellence in Education. The honor, from the Council for Exceptional Children’s Teacher Education Division, will be presented at the organization’s annual meeting in Denver.

According to the CEC, the TED/Pearson Award for Excellence in Education recognizes an individual who has “demonstrated an exemplary commitment to teacher education in special education; preparation of future leaders and/or quality educators; and/or research supporting the preparation of teachers and/or delivery of services to children with disabilities, legislative leadership and scholarly works.” (UNCC Campus News)

According to his CV, Dr. Spooner was a Doctoral Research Fellow and Research Assistant during his 3 years at UF before working as a Post Doctoral Research Assistant at the University of Washington in 1980.  He served as Adjunct Assistant Professor at Appalachian State from 1982 to 1986.  He joined UNC in 1981 as a Clinical Assistant Professor for the Department of Teaching Specialties.

Dr. Spooner has been featured in numerous publications and participated in a many presentations, all surrounding his passion for Special Education.

In addition to professor, Dr. Spooner has held numerous other titles. The list includes President for the North Carolina Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children, Senior Council Advisor for the North Carolina Association for Behavior Analysis (2007-present), Co-Editor-in-Chief for The Journal of Special Education (2006-present), and Associate Editor for Research and Practices for Persons with Severe Disabilities (2001-present).